Thursday, March 23, 2023

Division of childhood stages according to ages and characteristics of each stage

Division of childhood stages in detail according to ages:

A person grows and develops from a fetus to an adult after passing through the various stages of childhood. We mention the names of the stages of childhood as follows:

Prenatal stage:

It is an important part of the child's development process, and it paves the way for his psychological development. The brain develops throughout the prenatal period according to three main stages: the germinal stage, the embryonic stage, and the fetal period.

infant stage:

This stage is from the moment of birth to 12 months, and the newborn child begins to face the challenges of daily life, and develops his personality through successful life experiences and problems that solve him automatically, so the infant responds to external stimuli, such as holding a finger when you put it in his hand, and he can Seeing things close to his sight and recognizing some smells, in addition to smiling and crying, and when he approaches the age of 12 months, the infant can control his head movements, crawling and picking up things.

Early childhood:

From one year to three years, and one of the characteristics of early childhood is that the child learns to walk without anyone's help, he can jump and climb, hold crayons and doodle or draw circles, in addition to forming short sentences, and understanding and following some simple instructions.

Middle childhood:

It is the pre-school stage, and during this stage great intellectual, social and emotional changes occur, and it extends from 3-5 years, during which the child refines his motor skills, such as throwing and catching a ball, standing on one foot, and he can also dress himself.

Late childhood:

It is the grade school stage or the school age and it extends from 6-12 years, during which the child begins to trust his ability to face the challenges of daily life, and he also develops his personality as a result of successful life experiences and the problems he solved himself, and he becomes responsible and independent in a way that helps him form relationships with his peers in particular of the same sex.


It starts from 12-18 years, and includes three stages from early adolescence to middle adolescence and late adolescence. Adolescence is a transitional stage between childhood and adulthood, during which the child goes through many changes, including physical, behavioral, cognitive, emotional and social development.

Childhood characteristics:

Each stage is characterized by special mental, physical, sensory and social characteristics, in a way that ensures the child’s development and growth. We summarize the characteristics as follows:

Characteristics of the infant stage:

A newborn baby develops and grows in cognitive, language and physical skills; The physical development of the infant begins from the head, then moves to the rest of the body and controls the movement of the hand and foot, but cannot control it. As for the sensory development, it is represented by the infant’s ability to hear in the prenatal stage, and the sense of touch, smell, and taste matures after birth, and the infant can express his needs by continuing to cry.

Characteristics of early childhood:

The characteristics of early childhood are represented by walking that begins between one and two years, then the child learns to run and climb, in addition to the emotional development that is represented by tantrums. Words like "I" and "no" and become good at babbling and imitating sounds, like a picture of a cat.

Characteristics of middle childhood:

At this stage, the child thinks concretely rather than figuratively like adults. He is also unable to think logically. He begins to develop reading, writing and alphabet recognition skills. He may easily get distracted and repeat vocabulary as a way of learning.

Characteristics of late childhood:

At this stage, the child has smooth and strong motor skills, such as his ability to write and wear clothes, and his ability to pay attention and focus increases, as he can use sentences and with time he uses more complex sentences, and the behavioral development of the child occurs at this stage; Which is represented by the child's desire to be part of a group of children and to feel accepted by his peers.

The child grows and develops through the stages of childhood, starting as an infant, and ending as an adult, with mental, physical and sensory skills and experiences that help him overcome life's obstacles.